Harry C. Moore Sr., CBE

1913 – 2003

A native of Atlanta, Georgia, Mr. Moore took up fulltime residence in The Bahamas in 1986, having owned a home in Lyford Cay for many years.

He became a Director of Lyford Cay Foundation in 1979, serving in various capacities until he was named Chairman in 1995, a position he held until 2002 when he retired from day-to-day administration to serve as Honorary Chairman. He was also a Director of The Canadian Lyford Cay Foundation from 1990 until 2002.

Under Mr. Moore’s leadership, in 1984, the Foundations established their first scholarship programme to assist Bahamians who wished to study in the United States at the undergraduate level. Over the years, he spearheaded several fundraising drives which greatly increased the number and types of scholarships offered by the Foundations, ultimately making it possible for hundreds of young Bahamians to attain postsecondary education in the U.S., Canada, the United Kingdom and the Caribbean, including technical training and vocational qualifications.

“Mr. Moore’s legacy in The Bahamas will be indelibly etched in the annals of education The Bahamas and the lives of the persons he transformed through his generosity and enlisting others to buy into the vision of tertiary education for Bahamians.” – Desmond Bannister, Former Minister of Education at the opening of the Harry C. Moore Library at The University of The Bahamas.

Among his many accomplishments, Mr. Moore, as Chairman of the Lyford Cay Foundation, spearheaded the fundraising campaign to establish the Foundation’s first scholarship programme which has enabled thousands of young Bahamians to attain higher education at universities abroad and at the University of The Bahamas. Mr. Moore’s passion for education and the people of The Bahamas has improved the lives of so many due to the programmes he founded.

Mr. Moore was an avid support of the arts and The Bahamas’ premier arts scholarship – the Harry C. Moore Memorial Scholarship in the Arts was established in his memory, and its first award was made in 2004. The alumni of this flagship art award represents some of the best and talented in our nation – befitting the man for whom it was named.

Manuel Jorge Cutillas

dkbDr. Keva M. Bethel Ph.D, CMG